Week #2 Down

Twenty one classes in 14 days…I am beat. But beat in a good way. This week was a world of improvement from Week #1. My nerves settled down, I got used to practicing with 300 people, we got a taste of having some new instructors, and I figured out how much I need to eat and drink to have enough energy but not a full stomach.

 

The highlight of the week really was having Emmy with us at training. I think that all of the trainees could just tell that she has had decades of experience with this yoga, and the things she said – the little bits of information and advice she inserted in her dialogue – made me trust her knowledge and respect her and her instruction.

 

During the Friday morning class which was Emmy’s last day teaching us, she ended class by asking us to spread this yoga throughout the world. She asked us to imagine a world full of healthy people, and that by teaching yoga, we will be able to help more people around the world achieve physical and mental health. The entire class gave Emmy a standing ovation after the final breathing exercise, and I felt so genuinely blessed to have been given knowledge and advice by her. She vocalized the main reasons why I am here at this training: I want to be able to help people through this yoga. Sure, Acapulco doesn’t hurt, meeting people from all around the world is always a plus, and living in a different country on my own for the first time is pretty exciting, but the reasons I want to teach yoga reach beyond nine weeks at a resort. The practice has been such a positive addition to my life that the decision to go through the teacher training was one that I made in the hopes that I will be able to help other make it a positive addition to their lives as well. I felt like Emmy completely understood and expects that when we all become teachers.

Explore posts in the same categories: Teacher Training

2 Comments on “Week #2 Down”

  1. Ben Says:

    I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying the experience more. Keep kickin’ butt and working. June 8th will come before you know it so soak it in.

  2. Tina Says:

    That’s the MDubs I know and love! I totally agree with Benny, you gotta keep being the sponge you are and soak it all in. I can’t wait to hear more about Emmy! Is her yoga butt as good as every instructor says it is? Haha, is that weird to ask?

    MISS YOU! Keep up the good work !!


Leave a Reply

